Dining in Doha · Food

Bosphorus @ Souq Waqif

After a failed attempt at waking up early to watch the National Day parade at the corniche, my family and I decided to head on over to the souq instead to enjoy lunch before checking out the celebrations at Darb Al Saii.

After a debate of Moroccan vs. Turkish, we eventually decided to go with Bosphorus which serves traditional Turkish cuisine. Hidden in a corner, it was a bit hard to find but google maps helped us out!

IMG_6127

 

We ordered the medium sized mixed mezze plate to share. It came with a tray of hot, thick bread which were perfect for scooping up the different cold appetizers.

IMG_6111
IMG_6114

My aunt and gran both had the Tavuk Sis, which was basically shish taouk with a side of rice. The both of them loved their dish, and were still raving about it when we went home later.

IMG_6118

I went for the Kasarli Kofte, their special kofte meat stuffed with ooey gooey cheese!

IMG_6115

Look how cheesy! It oozed out the second I cut into the kofte.
IMG_6123

Unfortunately I was so stuffed from all the bread and mezze, I couldn’t really finish my food. The portions were huge and everything tasted so good.

My advice though is not to sit outside when it’s cold, or all the flies would feel really friendly and bother you throughout your meal. Also, if you still choose to sit outside, don’t sit too close to the wall of the restaurant as a lady behind my table got pooped on by one of the many pigeons flying above us.

Overall, good service, good value for money, and great flavours. Didn’t exactly taste like the food we had back in Turkey, but I can’t really expect that from every Turkish restaurant I go to in Doha, now can I?

 

Medium sized mixed mezze plate – 35Qr-38QR (can’t really remember!)

Tavuk sis – 45QR x 2 = 90QR

Kasarli Kofte – 45QR

Lemon mint – 18QR x 3 = 54QR

Total amount spent for 3 people: 224QR-227QR

Bosphorus Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

This is not a sponsored post.

Leave a Reply

